Chelmsford Athletics Club

Chelmsford Athletics Club - Jack Petchey Awards

The Jack Petchey Achievement Award Scheme is the flagship programme of the Jack Petchey Foundation and currently operates across 2000 different schools, groups and organisations within London and Essex.  The scheme contributes millions of pounds each year and has donated over £100million to support youth programmes.  Its aim is to enable schools, clubs etc to recognise, reward and celebrate the achievements of their young people.  Jack Petchey, CBE, wants young people to raise their aspirations, believe in themselves and make a contribution to their society.

Chelmsford AC has been awarded Silver status which means:

  • 6 nominations per year
    • 2 nominations in Sept - Nov (reporting deadline 30 Nov)
    • 4 in January - June (reporting deadline 30 June)

Who should be nominated:

These awards are NOT about being the “best”, they are about “doing your best”.  They should recognise those special young people in our club, who perhaps:

  • Frequently help others
  • Are good role models
  • Cope with adversity
  • Carry out community work
  • Provide service within the community
  • …or maybe just try really hard!

Nominating and selecting a Winner

The nomination process primarily involves the young people themselves. When asked by the JP co-ordinator (Steve Mitchell) the eligible athletes will vote for their choice.  The process can be managed by the lead coach if a group has been asked to nominate a winner.

When making a vote it should include the rationale behind the selection. After all votes have been cast or a due date reached, the votes will be counted and the winner confirmed.

Nominees must be aged 11-25 and can only receive the award ONCE during their time in the organisation.  Please see below a list of previous winners. 

Presenting the Winner

Winners of JP awards will be presented with their certificate, pin badge, membership card and congratulations leaflet in front of their peers perhaps during a special session

Spending the Award

The winner decides how the £300 is spent.  The money must NOT go towards standard running costs and must be used for the benefit of a group of young people and NOT for an individual.  It must not be spent on alcohol.

Celebrating the Award Winner

We will publicise winners on our notice board, in newsletters, on our website, and social media etc.

Presentation Evening

All winners are entitled to attend a prestigious Regional (Clubs) or Borough (schools) medallion event every year.

The JP events team arrange these fantastic events with great entertainment and special guests.

Previous winners




Grace Tremelling


Tilly Hewitt


Maisie Fulker


Sienna Shipton


Edward Hughes


Daisy Stollery




Darcy Sullivan


Kissiwaa Mensah




Finlay Staff


Oliver Early


Martha Smith


Nathan Bushnell




Sam Tremelling


Faye Sweeting


Thomas Keevil


Emily Foster




Laura Runciman


Hannah Bardo


Jessica Hopkins


Elliott Cordery


Owen Thomas


Mia Chantree




Ndidi Okoh


Weronika Czekajlo


Tallulah Quinn


Connie Forman


Caitlin Boyle


Rhys Collings



Nov 2014

Gabby Quigley

Oct 2014

Erin Minton-Branfoot

Sep 2014

Chris Watson

Jun 2014

Darren Blackwell

May 2014

Thomas Hewes

Apr 2014

Georgia Tuckfield

March 2014

Rebecca Wade

Feb 2014

Robert Runciman

Jan 2014

Terry Lucas



Jun 2012

Robyn Stafford

May 2012

Jodie Judd

Apr 2012

Kim Johansen

Mar 2012

Lauren Longhurst

Feb 2012

Rosa Prideaux

Jan 2012

Harry McQueen



Nov 2011

Caroline Hill

Oct 2011

Moesha Howard

Sep 2011

Christie Dailly

Jun 2011

Nicole McKechnie

May 2011

George Perkins

Apr 2011

Jessica Judd

Mar 2011

Jade Harding

Feb 2011

Alex O’Brien

Jan 2011

Hannah Smithdale



Nov 2010

Sophie Johnstone

Oct 2010

James Mead

Sep 2010

Katie Tettlebury

Jun 2010

Alex Short

May 2010

Bradley Reed

Apr 2010

Hayley McLean

Mar 2010

Ben Clark

Feb 2010

Nancy Epsly

Jan 2010

Sophie Riches



Dec 2009

Chelsea Coker

Nov 2009

Ellie Besford

Oct 2009

Georgia Atkins

Sep 2009

Sam Bailey

Aug 2009

Lauren Bouchard